Header Navigation:
Students

PHILOSOPHY FACULTY

Auerbach, David D., PhD (MIT) BS (City College of New York)
Assistant Professor
Specializes in the philosophy of mathematics, mathematical knowledge, and the philosophy of language.
343 Withers Hall
919-515-6331

Profile
email: david_auerbach@ncsu.edu

Austin, David F., PhD MA (Massachusetts) BA (Rochester)
Associate Professor and Associate Head of the Department
Specializes in the philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, visual representation, issues of pornography and censorship.
340B Withers Hall
919-515-6333

Profile
Homepage
PHI 340: https://wolfware.ncsu.edu/
email: david_austin@ncsu.edu

Bauer, William A., PhD (Nebraska) MA (Miami of Ohio) MA (California State-Dominguez Hills) BA (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Teaching Assistant Professor

Specializes in metaphysics and philosophy of science.

434A Withers Hall

919-515-6330

Profile

Homepage

email: wabauer@ncsu.edu

Bykova, Marina F., DrHabil PhD (Moscow) MAHons (Rostov-on-Don) (on leave until October 16, 2014)
Professor

Honorary Research Fellow, The Institute of Philosophy, Russian Academy of Sciences (Moscow)
Specializes in the history of philosophy, with a special focus on German idealism and nineteenth century continental philosophy.
451 Withers Hall
919-515-6332

Profile
Homepage
email: mfbykova@ncsu.edu

Carroll, John W., PhD (Arizona) BA (Carleton)
Professor and Philosophy Honors Director, Member of the NC State Academy of Outstanding Teachers
Specializes in the philosophy of science, metaphysics, and decision theory. His research has focused on the nature of causation, including its relationships to explanation and rationality.
457 Withers Hall
919-515-6140

Profile
Homepage

email: john_carroll@ncsu.edu

Carter, Eric K., PhD (Ohio State) MA (Texas Tech) BFA (Auburn)

Teaching Assistant Professor

Specializes in metaphysics and philosophy of language.

444 Withers Hall
919-515-6335

Profile

Homepage

email: ekcarter@ncsu.edu

Comstock, Gary L., PhD MA (Chicago) BA (Wheaton)
Professor
Specializes in ethical theory with a focus on life science issues: agriculture, animals, and biotechnology.
458 Withers Hall
919-515-6173

Profile
Homepage
email: gcomstock@ncsu.edu

Driscoll, Catherine M., PhD (Rutgers) BAHons (Oxford)
Associate Professor and Department Director of Undergraduate Advising
Main interests are in philosophy of biology and philosophy of psychology, in particular the philosophical issues surrounding the evolution of cognition and culture.
434B Withers Hall
919-513-7846

Profile
email: catherine_driscoll@ncsu.edu

Endicott, Ronald P., PhD MA (Michigan) BA (Indiana, Indianapolis)
Associate Professor and Director of the Cognitive Science Program
Specializes in the philosophy of mind, foundations of cognitive science, issues in artificial intelligence, and scientific reduction.
455 Withers Hall
919-515-6195

Profile
Homepage
email: ron_endicott@ncsu.edu

Hafner, Johannes, PhD (University of California, Berkeley) MA (Vienna)
Assistant Professor
Specializes in Logic, History and Philosophy of Logic, and Philosophy of Mathematics.
446 Withers Hall
919-515-0306

Profile
email: jhafner@ncsu.edu

Hettche, Matt, PhD (Purdue) MA (Virginia Polytechnic) BA (La Salle)
Teaching Assistant Professor (part-time)
Specializes in the history of modern philosophy, with special reference to Kant.
340 Withers Hall
919-515-3214
email: mhettch@ncsu.edu

Heiner, Steven, PhD MA (Kentucky) MEd BA (Virginia)

Teaching Assistant Professor (part-time)

Main areas of interest are Wittgenstein, phenomenology, existentialism, metaphysics, and epistemology

450 Withers Hall

919-515-6461

email: seheiner@ncsu.edu

Hinton, Timothy J., PhD (MIT) MSt (Oxford) MA BAHons (Witwatersrand)
Professor, Member of the NC State Academy of Outstanding Teachers
Main areas of interest are political philosophy, ethics, and the history of philosophy, with special focus on medieval philosophy.
456 Withers Hall
919-513-7941

Profile
email: tim_hinton@ncsu.edu

Levenbook, Barbara B., PhD (Arizona) MA BA (Rochester)
Associate Professor
Specializes in the philosophy of law, political philosophy, and ethics. Her research focuses on the nature of law and legal reasoning.
434D Withers Hall
919-515-6104

Profile
email: barbara_levenbook@ncsu.edu

Mabrito, Robert A., PhD MA (Michigan) BA (Yale)
Associate Professor
Specializes in ethical theory and philosophy of language.
434C Withers Hall
919-513-7978

Profile
email: robert_mabrito@ncsu.edu

Marnell, Michael M., PhD MLS (Duke) MDiv (Jesuit School of Theology, Berkeley, CA) BA (Gonzaga)
Teaching Assistant Professor
Research and teaching interests are centered on ethics and political philosophy.
450 Withers Hall
919-515-6461

Profile
email: mike_marnell@ncsu.edu

Merrill, Gary H., PhD MA (Rochester) BS (Rensselaer)

Visiting Scholar

Main interests are in ontology, logic, philosophy of language and philosophy of science, and their applications in knowledge exploration.
425 Withers Hall
919-515-6337

Homepage
email: gary_merrill@ncsu.edu

Pendlebury, Michael, PhD MA (Indiana) MA BAHons (Witwatersrand)

Professor and Head of the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Main areas of interest are metaphysics and epistemology and related fields, including philosophy of mind and language and meta-ethics.
340C Withers Hall
919-515-6103

Profile
Homepage
email: mjpendle@ncsu.edu


Puryear, Stephen M., PhD MA (Pittsburgh) MA (Texas A&M) BS (NC State)
Assistant Professor
Specializes in the history of modern philosophy.
345 Withers Hall
919-515-6106

Profile

Homepage
email: smpuryear@ncsu.edu

Smith, Nicole, PhD (Bowling Green State University) MA (University of Colorado, Boulder) BA (Metro State College of Denver)
Teaching Assistant Professor (part-time)
Specializes in ethics, moral psychology, agency and moral responsibility.
340 Withers Hall
919-515-3214
email: nasmith6@ncsu.edu

Soyarslan, Sanem, PhD (Duke) MA (Boğaziçi) Diplôme Superieur d'Université (Paris II) BA (Boğaziçi)
Assistant Professor
Specializes in the history of ethics and the history of early modern philosophy.
427 Withers Hall
919-515-6460

Profile
email: ssoyars@ncsu.edu

Taylor, David, PhD MA (Iowa) BA (Virginia Tech)

Teaching Assistant Professor (part-time)

Specializes in metaphysics and the history of analytic philosophy

450 Withers Hall

919-515-6461

email: dptaylor@ncsu.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Bryan, Robert S.
Professor Emeritus
340 Withers Hall
919-515-3214
email: rbryan@nc.rr.com

Levin, Harold D.
Associate Professor Emeritus
340 Withers Hall
919-515-3214
email: harold_levin@ncsu.edu

Pierce, Christine M.
Professor Emerita
340 Withers Hall
919-515-3214
email: chris_pierce@ncsu.edu

Regan, Tom
Professor Emeritus
5216 Library
919-513-1333
Homepage
email: tom_regan@ncsu.edu

VanDeVeer, A. Donald
Professor Emeritus
340 Withers Hall
919-515-3214
e-mail: donvandeveer@gmail.com