The
following is a description of the July 9th, 2009 phishing attack and
OIT's response.
On July 9th, 2009 around
6:15pm, phishers sent the
following
email to around 800 email addresses at ncsu.edu:
Subject: Mandatory Security Update:
July 2009
From: IT Help Desk
North Carolina State
University
Raleigh, NC 27695
URGENT SECURITY UPDATE -
JULY 2009
Due to the recent increase
in spam emails, we have
upgraded to an advanced server for your premium security to prevent
spam from getting to your inbox. As a result of this, it is important
that you login to your email using the link below, to make sure that
your account information is up-to-date.
Click Here to
Protect Your Account
This email has been sent
to all NCSU Webmail users
and it is mandatory to follow.
Thank you for your
cooperation.
IT Department
Copyright © 2009 North Carolina State University
The phishing email came from server12.nvhserver.com
and the From: address was it_dept@ncsu.edu.
This phishing email is the
first to include a link to an off-campus server where the usernames and
passwords were collected.
Most phishing emails ask for an email reply-to a non-ncsu.edu email
address.
The phishing site was hosted at http://ncsu.edu.ec-uk.org which was
at
IP address 75.127.89.94. It appeared like this at first:

This is a pretty good copy of the real
webmail.ncsu.edu login page from July 9th, 2009. In response at
8:30pm, ComTech updated the DNS servers so that anyone on campus using
them (or using them from VPN connection), who tried to visit the
phishing site at ncsu.edu.ec-uk.org would be sent to the web server at
net112vip.comtech.ncsu.edu instead of the phishing site. This
prevented anyone on campus from going to the phishing site, but we
wondered what we could do to warn those who might read the email from
home.
The phishing website was off campus on a server we didn't control, but
we noticed the images were href'd to our webmail servers. So OIT
systems was able to change the graphics so the phishing site looked
like this:
Additionally, the URL of the phishing site was reported as a forgery to
Trend Micro, Symantec, Google, Yahoo, Microsoft, PhishTank and
malwaredomains.com
This way, web browsers with
web reputation features would give a warning to the user if the link in
the email was opened.