Music Department
Toni Christine Masini Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship Award: $5,000

Deadline: March 1, 2015

This memorial scholarship was established to preserve the memory of Toni Christine Masini as a young woman with exceptional leadership skills and a 'Commitment to Excellence' through God, family, friends, academics and music. This scholarship was set up to acknowledge, in particular, her involvement in the Department of Music at North Carolina State University as a participant in the North Carolina State University Marching Band and various other performance ensembles, as a solo performer, A.J. Fletcher Music Scholarship winner and as a practicing musician dedicated to continuous musical growth.


Toni Christine (pictured right) was a rising senior at the time of her death in June 1992. During the previous three years, she was an active participant in a variety of musical endeavors at the university, including first chair in the Wind Ensemble while playing the flute and piccolo.


In addition to this, Toni was a Dean's List student and was elected president of the Marching Band for her senior year. Her family decided that in lieu of flowers, donations could be made to the Music Department of NCSU for a one time gift, but due to the generosity of family and friends, a permanent endowment has been established in Toni's memory. This endowment, which is still receiving contributions, provides a $5,000.00 annual scholarship that is awarded to a deserving student who meets the requirements set forth in the Program Description for this prestigious scholarship.


Scholarship recipients to date include: Donna Brauns Brashear, 1993-94 Flute/Piccolo; Steven Abee, 1995-96 Percussion; Jeffrey Petters, 1996-97 Euphonium; Jim Samp, 1997-98 French Horn; Matt Weingarten, 1998-99 Trombone; Courtney Long, 1999-2000 Saxophone; Tim Williams, 2000-01 Clarinet; Jason Van Duyn, 2001-02 Tuba; Carl Schreck, III, 2002-03 Clarinet; Hailey Queen, 2003-04 Saxophone & Drum Major; Stephanie Kruep, 2004-05 Percussion, Kevin Doty, 2005-06 Mellophone/French Horn & Drum Major; Amanda Giggard, 2006-07 Flute/Piccolo; Kelly McGill, 2007-08 Trumpet & Drum Major; Allisyn Kennedy, 2008-09 Flute/Piccolo; Caroline Schroeder, 2009-2010 Trumpet & Drum Major; Michael Murr, 2010-2011 Trombone; Vincent Waters, 2011–2012 French Horn/Mellophone; Annie Louise Lassiter, 2012-13 Clarinet, and David Nelson Williams, 2013-14 Tuba.


All past recipients have since graduated from NCSU and are either gainfully employed or pursuing advanced degrees at various universities throughout the country.


Born in Morehead City, North Carolina to Michael and Deborah Burton, the 2014-2015 recipient is Rebecca Burton, a rising senior majoring in Environmental Science with minors in Environmental Toxicology and Music. Rebecca has three siblings, Meaghan and twin brothers, Michael and Nikolas. She attended West Carteret High School in Morehead City. During her four years at NSCU, Rebecca has performed and been a leader in the ‘Power Sound of the South’ Marching Band and the Wind Ensemble where she has been the principal flutist for the past two years. She is a member of the Honorary Musical Service fraternity, Mu Beta Psi. In her free time, Rebecca enjoys reading, scrapbooking and practicing her flute.


All scholarship winners are highly regarded recipients of this prestigious award and each was recognized at a ceremony in the Department of Music as well as at half time of a home football game when they were presented a plaque for their achievement. Their individual photograph is also added to the memorial plaque that hangs in Price Music Center as a fitting tribute to the memory of Toni Christine Masini.


Students wishing to apply for this memorial scholarship must first meet specific criteria which includes:

1. Participation in Marching Band during the fall semester and another performance ensemble during the spring in which the scholarship is awarded.

2. Full time student who has received at least 48 credit hours by the end of the semester in which the competition is scheduled.

3. Cumulative GPA of at least 2.5 on a 4.0 scale.

After meeting these criteria, the applicant must:

1. Participate in a 5-8 minute solo performance competition (adjudicated by a 3 member panel)

2. Write an essay (at least two pages in length, typed, double spaced) on the topic of "Leadership" as it applies to various student roles in the Department of Music and/or the performance ensembles in the band program (evaluated by family).

Additional information and details are available by contacting Music@NCState: 919-515-2981


Click here for this Scholarship Application.