skip to content

Secondary Navigation

When is Orientation?

Orientation is held during the summer months for students planning on starting at NC State for the Fall 2014 semester.

New Student Orientation sessions for first-year students are college specific, so you and your student need to attend the appropriate session for the major/college in which your student is currently enrolled. Students can attend any of the sessions designated for their college (e.g. students in the College of Engineering can attend any of the five Engineering sessions), except for students in the following program:

Students must register for their Orientation session, registration is on a first-come, first-served basis (beginning in mid-March), and there are attendance caps on each session.

During orientation, parents and family members are encouraged to come with their students and attend Parents’ Orientation.  Parents’ Orientation runs in conjunction with the student program and is designed to introduce families to the academic programs and special services available at NC State.

Colleges are listed alphabetically and are listed above their corresponding session dates.

Agricultural Institute (2-year program)
Wednesday, July 23 – Thursday, July 24

Agriculture and Life Sciences
Thursday, July 17 - Friday, July 18

Design
Tuesday, July 22 – Wednesday, July 23

Education
Tuesday, June 24 – Wednesday, June 25

Engineering
Wednesday, July 9 – Thursday, July 10
Thursday, July 10 – Friday, July 11
Monday, July 14 – Tuesday, July 15
Tuesday, July 15 – Wednesday, July 16
Wednesday, July 16 – Thursday, July 17

*Students majoring in Textiles Engineering attend the Orientation for the College of Textiles (July 21-22)
*Students majoring in Paper Science & Engineering attend the Orientation for the College of Natural Resources (June 24-25)

Environmental Sciences Majors
Monday, July 14 – Tuesday, July 15

First Year College
Wednesday, June 25 – Thursday, June 26
Thursday, June 26 – Friday, June 27
Monday, June 30 – Tuesday, July 1
Tuesday, July 1 – Wednesday, July 2

Humanities and Social Sciences
Monday, July 7 – Tuesday, July 8
Tuesday, July 8 – Wednesday, July 9

Life Sciences First Year Program
(Life Sciences First Year sessions are designated by intended major - please check the dates below to see which session students and parents may attend. Please note: Biological Sciences and Zoology students may attend either session)

Tuesday, July 22 – Wednesday, July 23

  • Biochemistry
  • Biological Sciences (All Concentrations)
  • Microbiology
  • Plant Biology
  • Zoology

Wednesday, July 23 – Thursday, July 24

  • Biological Sciences (All Concentrations)
  • Genetics
  • Nutrition Sciences
  • Zoology

Natural Resources
Tuesday, June 24 – Wednesday, June 25

Poole College of Management
Wednesday, June 25 – Thursday, June 26
Monday, June 30– Tuesday, July 1
Tuesday, July 1 – Wednesday, July 2

Sciences
Thursday, July 24 – Friday, July 25

*Students majoring in Life Sciences First Year Program should locate orientation dates above under the heading Life Sciences First Year Program

Textiles
Monday, July 21 – Tuesday, July 22


Ready to register for Parents' Orientation? Click here for information on how to register online with your student!