NCSU Find People NCSU Libraries NCSU News NCSU Calendar NCSU MyPack Portal NCSU Giving NCSU Campus Map


The people, news and ideas that shape NC State University

Faculty and Staff Notes

University Recognizes Outstanding Teachers

NC State's Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning and the Graduate School recognized outstanding faculty members and graduate students who have received teaching awards at a ceremony on April 16.

NC State recognized 18 faculty members for receiving the Outstanding Teacher Award. Recipients of the award must be nominated and selected by peers and students. Upon receiving the award, faculty become members of NC State's Academy of Outstanding Teachers. Outstanding Teacher Award Recipients for 2007-08 were:

  • Barbara Bennett, English
  • Cecil Bozarth, Business Management
  • Lianne Cartee, Biomedical Engineering
  • Theodore Feitshans, Agricultural & Resource Economics
  • Miriam Ferzli, Biological & Resource Economics
  • Bonnie Fusarelli, Education Leadership & Policy Studies
  • Robert Fornaro, Computer Science
  • Mohammed Gabr, Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
  • John Havlin, Soil Science
  • Timothy Hinton, Philosophy & Religion
  • Marilyn McCollum, Mathematics
  • John Mertz, Foreign Language & Literatures
  • Stephen Michielsen, Textile & Apparel Technology & Management
  • Bruce Novak, Chemistry
  • Daniel Robison, Forestry & Environmental Resources
  • Jan Spears, Crop Science
  • Clifford Swanson, Molecular Biomedical Sciences
  • Robin Thomas, Accounting

The ceremony also recognized graduate students who have teaching responsibilities, including 30 students who completed the Certificate of Accomplishment in Teaching program and 23 who completed the Preparing the Professoriate program. Both programs are part of the Graduate School's Preparing Future Leaders initiative, designed to offer training, support, and professional development experiences for graduate students.

Certificate of Accomplishment in Teaching (CoAT)

  • Michael P. Allocca, Mathematics
  • Ana Baeza, Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
  • Magen S. Eller, Crop Science
  • Nancy Fire, Adult & Community College Education
  • Amy Green, Communication
  • Osman Gulseven, Economics
  • Shree Krishna, Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
  • Sang Yoon Lee, Plant Biology
  • Luis Mata, Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
  • Angela R. Post, Horticultural Science
  • Kara Stewart, Animal Science
  • Daniel Sutko, Communication
  • Monique R. Taylor, Mathematics
  • Wenhong Tian, Computer Science
  • Jessica Wery, Curriculum & Instruction
  • David Wright, Computer Science
  • Mustafa Berke Yelten, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Lei Zeng, Communication

Certificate of Accomplishment in Teaching (CoAT) with Specialization in Life Sciences

  • Tracie Marcella Addy, Science Education
  • Erminio Paolo Alesii, Microbiology
  • Nyeema Charmaine Harris, Forestry
  • Catherine LePrevost, Toxicology
  • Avanika Mahajan, Animal Science
  • Haizhen Meng, Zoology
  • Maria Baron Palamar, Fisheries & Wildlife Science
  • Kamana Singh, Microbial Biotechnology
  • Adam N. Smith, Crop Science
  • Michael Roy Stiff, Crop Science
  • Dusti Jeanne Vanderwende, Animal Science
  • Roselyn L. Whitney, Plant Biology
    Scott Alpert, Civil Engineering

Preparing the Professoriate (PTP) Participants

  • Scott Alpert, Civil Engineering
  • Kathryn Batts, Psychology
  • Julie Beier, Mathematics
  • Jennifer Reid Clonts, Textile Engineering, Chemistry & Science
  • Brandon Conover, Electrical Engineering
  • Jonathan Gaffney, Physics
  • Rachana Gupta, Electrical Engineering
  • Elizabeth Harris, Civil Engineering
  • Ross Hays, Nuclear Engineering
  • Jennifer Landin, Science Education
  • Edward Large, Genetics
  • Louis Levy, Mathematics
  • Carmel Martin-Fairey, Comparative Biomedical Sciences
  • Lindsay May, Mathematics
  • Sibin Mohan, Computer Science
  • Richard Petersen, Mathematics
  • Jennifer Petzold, Plant Biology
  • Reanna Poncheri, Psychology
  • Aimee Rockhill, Fisheries & Wildlife Science
  • Diane Ryan, Psychology
  • Siddharth Savadatti, Civil Engineering
  • Robert Schmidt, Chemistry
  • Monique Taylor, Mathematics

Alumni Association Honors Outstanding Faculty

NC State's Alumni Association recognized 18 faculty members with $73,000 in awards for excellence in teaching, research, extension and outreach through its annual awards program.

Awards for the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professors were established in 1968, and awards for the Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professors followed in 1983. These awards honor distinguished undergraduate and graduate instruction and provide each winner with a $3,000 stipend for two years. This year's recipients were:

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professors

  • Roger Clark, Department of Architecture, College of Design
  • Michael Grimwood, Department of English, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Stephen Margolis, Department of Economics, College of Management
  • Robert Martin Jr., Department of Mathematics, College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
  • Jeannette Moore, Department of Animal Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • David Shew, Department of Plant Pathology, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professors

  • Russell King, Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Barbara Sherry, Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine

Awards for Alumni Outstanding Research were first presented in 1981 and provide a one-time stipend of $3,000 to each winner. Faculty who make significant advances in their field of study are eligible for this award. This year's recipients were:

  • Thomas Banks, Department of Mathematics, College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
  • Christopher Frey, Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Jan Genzer, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, College of Engineering

Awards for Alumni Outstanding Outreach and Extension, established in 1978, provide a one-time stipend of $3,000 to each winner. Extension agents and specialists who make an outstanding effort to bring research and technology to the people and businesses of North Carolina are eligible. This year's recipients were:

  • Len Annetta, Department of Math Science And Technology Education, College of Education
  • Harriett Edwards, 4-H Youth Development and Family and Consumer Sciences, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Walt Wolfram, Department of English, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Winners of the Alumni Outstanding Teacher Awards receive a one-time stipend of $1,000. This year's recipients were:

  • Robert Fornaro, Department of Computer Science, College of Engineering
  • Mohammed Gabr, Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
  • John Mertz, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Bruce Novak, Department of Chemistry, College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences