Welcome to the NC State Department of Chem­istry. Our award-winning re­search­ers and teachers guide stu­dents through a broad, rigorous curri­cu­lum, and our grad­uates have been highly suc­cess­ful in both aca­demia and in­dus­try. Our re­search pro­grams cover a di­verse spec­trum including analytical, inorganic, organic, physical, biological, polymers, materials, nanoscience, theoretical, and magnetic resonance.

Contact Information

Undergraduate studies and enrollment assistance:
Katie Elliott

Dabney Hall, Room 208, Box 8204
2620 Yarbrough Drive, Raleigh, NC 27695-8204

Hours of Administrative offices:
8am-5pm, M-F

Phone: (919) 515-2355
Fax: (919) 515-5079

News & Events

View all posts

Carl Bumgardner establishes scholarship for undergrad Chemistry majors

Carl Bumgardner, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Chemistry, has established an endowed scholarship for undergraduate Chemistry majors. The Ann Bumgardner and Myrtle Bumgardner Scholarship is honor of his wife, Ann, and his sister, Myrtle. More information about the scholarship and a picture of Professor Bumgardner (center, in an NC State red tie) from the celebration of the gift can be found here.
Posted May 27, 2017

Hniang Khamh granted EAPSI award for summer of 2017 in China

Graduate studet Hniang Khamh from the Franzen group was granted an East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes for U.S. Graduate Students (EAPSI) award for the summer of 2017 in China. She was also awarded $5,000 stipend for the duration of the program.

EAPSI award is an individual NSF grant that provides U.S. graduate students in science, engineering, and education: 1) first-hand research experiences in Australia, China, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, or Taiwan; 2) an introduction to the science, science policy, and scientific infrastructure of the respective location; and 3) an orientation to the society, culture, and language. It is expected that EAPSI awards will help students initiate professional relationships to enable future collaboration with foreign counterparts.
Posted May 12, 2017

Alex Cusumano awarded ACS Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Alex Cusumano, an undergraduate BS chemistry student in the Pierce group, has been awarded an ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) for the summer of 2017. These competitive fellowships are bestowed upon students from around the country to promote rigorous research in the field of organic chemistry. Deriving inspiration from the inherent diversity and complexity of marine natural products, the Pierce group explores the synthesis of highly functionalized, biologically relevant scaffolds in the pursuit of chemical probes, novel bond construction techniques, and lead compounds in the treatment of human disease. The 2017 ACS SURF award will aid to fund Alex's ongoing efforts to develop concise, asymmetric synthetic methodologies towards marine alkaloids. Posted May 11, 2017

Vishwas Rao to receive 2017-2018 Fulbright U.S. Student Program Grant

Congratulations to Chemistry Major and Park Scholar Vishwas Rao on being selected to receive a 2017-2018 Fulbright U.S. Student Program Grant! Vishwas will use his Fulbright Scholarship to study and develop new strategies to combat antibiotic resistance with Dr. Gerard Wright at McMaster University in Canada. Posted May 3, 2017

Denis Fourches and collaborators publish paper in Chemical Science

Dr. Denis Fourches and his collaborators at the NC State College of Textiles have published a paper in Chemical Science about their efforts to digitize the Dye Library recently donated by Eastman Chemical and housed in the College of Textiles. The library contains over 98,000 vials and they have generated chemical maps for 2,700 of them, allowing researchers to compare the chemical structures and properties of related dyes. More information about their work and its impact can be found here. The project was funded by the Chancellor's Faculty Excellence Program.
Posted April 19, 2017

Maria Oliver-Hoyo receives 2017 UNC System Board of Governors Award

Professor Maria Oliver-Hoyo has been selected to receive the 2017 UNC System Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching from NC State. This is the most prestigious award available to faculty at NC State University for teaching excellence. She is a previous recipient of the NC State Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award and the NSF Career Award.

The College of Sciences has published a very informative news article describing her numerous innovative contributions to instructional excellence, her NSF-supported research program in Chemistry Education, and the extensive service contributions she has made to NCSU and her profession.

Read the full story here. Posted April 19, 2017

Dave Shultz selected for 2017 Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professorship Award

Professor Dave Shultz has been selected to receive a 2017 Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professorship Award.

This award is given annually to NCSU faculty for outstanding contributions in graduate teaching and mentoring. Dave, who is the first in the department to receive this award, has been responsible for major curricular contributions in five graduate courses, including the creation of CH721 (Advanced Organic) and CH725 (Physical Methods in Organic Chemistry) in their current forms and has served continuously on graduate recruiting/admissions committees for 24 years and as the Director of Graduate Programs for the past 6 years. His impact on mentoring graduate students was addressed as follows in the award letter from Dean Grasso of the Graduate School:

The Selections Committee was unanimous in its praise of your exceptional record of graduate student training. Particularly impressive were the letters from the students themselves, which attested to the extraordinary quality of the mentoring that you provided both during and after their graduate programs at NC State.

The Alumni Association ​will present this award at the 2017 Faculty Awards and Mathews Medal Ceremony on April 26, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. at the Park Alumni Center.
Posted April 19, 2017

View all posts