Chemistry Seminar Program


Fall 2015 | Spring 2016

January | February | March | April | May | June

All seminars begin at 3:40 pm in Dabney 124 unless otherwise noted.
Refreshments will be served outside Dabney 124 at 3:30 pm.

January

Friday, January 15

Host: Elena Jakubikova

Oleg Prezhdo, USC Dornsife

"Quantum Dots – Artificial Atoms, Large Molecules or Small Pieces of Bulk? Insights from Time-Domain Ab Initio Studies"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, January 22

Host: Chris Gorman

Eric C. Jensen, Eli Lilly and Company

"Challenges and Opportunities with Materials during Pharmaceutical Development"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, January 29

Host: Joshua Pierce

Karl Scheidt, Northwestern University

"New Cooperative Catalysts Strategies for Synthesis"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

February

Monday, February 1
Special Interest Seminar
COX 306 at 4:00 PM

Host: Phil Castellano

Stephen K. Doorn, Los Alamos National Laboratory

"Reinvigorating Carbon Nanotube Photonics via Dopant-Induced Exciton Trapping"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, February 5

Host: Phil Castellano

Jeremy Klosterman, Bowling Green State University

"Directing Aggregation of Donor-Acceptor organic dyes within Metal-organic Frameworks"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Monday, February 8
Organic Chemistry Seminar
DAB 220 at 4:00 PM

Host: Joshua Pierce

Jason Chen, Iowa State University

TBA

Friday, February 12

Host: Edmond Bowden

Jerome Stavinoha, Eastman Chemical Company

"Epoxybutene and Derivatives: Novel Processes from Butadiene"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, February 19

Host: Alex Smirnov

Stefan Stoll, University of Washington

"Mapping protein conformational changes using DEER/EPR spectroscopy"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, February 26

Host: Joshua Pierce

Matthew Sigman, University of Utah

TBA

March

Friday, March 4

No seminar

Friday, March 11

Spring Break — No seminar

Tuesday, March 15
Special Interest Seminar
DAB 220 at 4:00 PM

Host: Alex Smirnov

Victor Ovcharenko, International Tomography Center, Russian Academy of Sciences, Novosibirsk, Russia

"Breathing Crystals"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, March 18

Host: Christian Melander

Kim D. Janda, Scripps Research Institute

"Merging of Chemistry and Biology: In Search of Molecules with Translational Function"

Seminar Abstract (PDF) ]

Friday, March 25

No seminar

April

Friday, April 1

Host: Joshua Pierce

Robert R. Knowles, Princeton University

TBA

Friday, April 8

Host: Felix Castellano

Michael R. Wasielewski, Northwestern University

TBA

Friday, April 15

Host: Christian Melander

Shahriar Mobashery, University of Notre Dame

TBA

Thursday, April 21
DAB 220 at 3:00 PM

Host: Reza Ghiladi

Nicolai Lehnert, University of Michigan

TBA

Friday, April 22

Host: Alex Nevzorov

Kurt Zilm, Yale University

TBA

January | February | March | April | May | June

Fall 2015 | Spring 2016