Left Navigation

Faculty Senate Home Agenda Faculty Senate Bylaws Committees General Faculty Items of Interest Mediation, Grievances & Hearings Meetings & Minutes Resolutions Senators

April 20, 2004

1. Call to Order
Chair Dennis M. Daley called the fourteenth meeting of the fiftieth session of the North Carolina State University Faculty Senate to order at 3:00 p.m.

2.  Welcome and Announcements
Chair Daley welcomed Senators and Guests.

Chair Daley recognized the newly elected Senators and thanked the retiring Senators for their service on the Senate.

Chair Daley announced that the Board of Trustees passed a resolution of their dismay about the Board of Governors decision regarding the establishment of an Engineering Program at East Carolina University.  The resolution is going to be sent to the President of the UNC System. 

3. Approval of the Minutes, Meeting No. 13, April 6, 2004
The minutes were approved unanimously.

4. Remarks from Chancellor Fox
Chancellor Fox announced that her colleague Kerry Smith was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Chancellor Fox announced that she has agreed to accept the position as the seventh Chancellor of the University of California San Diego starting in August 2004.

Chancellor Fox reported that all the signs for NCAA accreditation look positive for the end of April; Despite being problematic a few years ago in terms of their operation our campus police was certified by their national organization; NC State is well along the way with compact planning and the accompanying negotiations that will prepare for the budget process. 

Chancellor Fox congratulated and thanked Vice Chancellor George Worsley for forty-one years of service to the university.  She announced that a scholarship in his name will be established at the bequest of his daughter, and the Administrative Services Complex on Sullivan Drive will be named in his honor.

5. Resolution of Commendation to Vice Chancellor George Worsley
Chair Daley read and presented a framed copy of a resolution of commendation to Vice Chancellor Worsley from his colleagues in the Faculty Senate.  

 6. Recognition of Holladay Medal Recipients
Chair Daley recognized and congratulated Professors Kenneth Adler, College of Veterinary Medicine; Vincent Foote, College of Design; Hassan Hassan, College of Engineering; Lucinda MacKethan, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and Bruce Zobel, College of Natural Resources for being recipients of the Holladay Medal.

7.  Old Business
Overload Compensation and Summer Pay for Faculty
The Senate voted unanimously to endorse two replacement regulations on overload compensation, and the regulations and issues associated with faculty participation in summer school teaching and other duties during the summer. 

8.  Athletics Report
Dr. Donn Ward, Faculty Athletics Representative reported that an ad hoc task force on initial and continuing eligibility of student athletes was appointed by the Chancellor and Provost last summer.  The task force accomplished their charge and submitted their final report to the Chancellor and Provost in November and their report was accepted.

The Council on Athletics has been modifying their bylaws.  They have proposed a number of modifications, which have been submitted to the Chancellor for her review and her approval.  The proposed changes are not substantial but will merely bring the bylaws in harmony with the council’s current operating procedures. 

A task force has been formed to review rules and practices related to official campus visits by perspective student athletes.  In light of that same issue, the ACC Council of Presidents requested that the conference review this issue as well.  As a result the ACC has named a committee to review the recruiting practices and Lee Fowler has been appointed chair of the committee. 

Sportsmanship is an ongoing issue.  There are some significant concerns related to sportsmanship in such areas as players and coaches’ behavior as well as fan behavior. 

Comments from Phil Moses, Director of the Academic Program for Student Athletes
Phil Moses gave an update on the admittance of some student athletes in the last two admission cycles that were classified as admission exceptions.

Moses stated that a total of eleven students for the last two admissions cycles of admission exceptions came in as student athletes.  Ten continue to be enrolled at the institution.  They are moving through their courses of study, satisfying NC State continuing enrollment requirements and NCAA requirements.  He feels confident that all ten will make it through and graduate.

9.  Admissions Process
Tommy Griffin, Director of Admissions handed out and reviewed a report on the statistical information regarding the admissions over an historical time period.  He stated that the Admissions Office believes in their process in making admission decisions and they believe in the quality of the students that they have admitted to the university.

10.  Liaison Reports
Senator Tyler reported from the International Programs Committee.  She thinks that some of the recent changes in the structure in international programs have helped the initiatives currently in place to try to internationalize our campus.  

Past Chair Carter reported that at the last Faculty Assembly meeting President Broad reported on TIAA CREF, which compared the statistics of faculty members’ ages between 1987 and 1998.  President Broad felt that the aging of Professors was having an effect on the number of years people serve in post docs.  She also mentioned that most PhD students in the system are from overseas. 

Senator Bernhard stated that there was a considerable amount of email to and from the Governance Committee of the Faculty Assembly circulated with regard to the report that they were preparing.  It was not discussed at the meeting itself therefore it will be coming up at the October 1st meeting which is the next meeting of the Faculty Assembly.

Chair Daley noted that the Faculty Senate is completing fifty years in faculty governance today.  When it reconvenes in the fall it will be the beginning of the next fifty years.

11.  Adjournment
Chair Daley adjourned the meeting at 5 p.m.

Footer Nav