Left Navigation

Faculty Senate Home Agenda Faculty Senate Bylaws Committees General Faculty Items of Interest Mediation, Grievances & Hearings Meetings & Minutes Resolutions Senators

August 24, 2004


1. Call to Order
Chair Dennis M. Daley called the first meeting of the fifty-first session of the North Carolina State University Faculty Senate to order at 3:00 p.m.

2.  Welcome and Announcements
Chair Daley welcomed Senators and Guests.

Chair Daley announced that Senator Stephen Middleton from CHASS has been promoted to full Professor; the Chancellor has invited the Faculty Senate to a pig picking on September 7; pictures will be taken of senators at the September 21 meeting.

Chair Daley noted that there are still vacancies on the hearing and grievance panels.

3.   Approval of the Minutes, Meeting No. 14, April 20, 2004.
The minutes were approved as corrected. 

4.   Remarks from Provost Oblinger
Provost Oblinger reported that as of August 1, Dr. Warwick Arden from the University of Illinois was hired as the Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Ira Weiss who is the sitting dean at Northeastern University in Boston has been hired as the Dean of the College of Management and will be joining NC State on December 1; Mr. Charles Leffler has been named Vice Chancellor for Finance and Business; Ms. PJ Teal is the new Secretary of the University and Assistant to the Chancellor; Ms. Barbara Carroll from Georgia State University has been named the Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources and will be joining NC State on August 31; and Dr. John Ambrose has been named the Interim Vice Provost for the Division of Undergraduate Affairs. 

Provost Oblinger reported that a deadline has been met in the Office of the President as it relates to what the potential priorities coming from NC State would be for building projects in Phase II of the bond.

Senior Vice Provost Katie Perry is working diligently with colleges and departments on their rules for reappointment promotion and tenure. 

Provost Oblinger reported that approximately $3.4M was received from this General Assembly Session to be allocated to the colleges and units based on enrollment.  They also received the campus initiated tuition increase.   Salary funds have been distributed to the Deans, Department Heads and Chairs and through the Deans exclusively to the colleges in the case of CITI for faculty and non-faculty EPA raises.

5.   Issues of Concern
Senator Brownie is concerned about the university’s response to an accusation of harassment against a faculty member.

Chair Daley assigned the issue of concern to the Personnel Policy Committee.

Senator Brownie is concerned that he was denied participation (as an observer) in Part 2 of a graduate student’s final “oral” defense examination by the chair of the said examination. His understanding is that as a full graduate faculty member at NCSU, such a response was contrary to NC State’s stated policy on such issues.

Chair Daley assigned the issue of concern to the Academic Policy Committee.

Senator Brownie is concerned about the policies on requirements for admissions to graduate programs at NC State.

Chair Daley assigned the issue of concern to the Academic Policy Committee.

6.   New Business
In the absence of Senator Bob Bruck, Secretary Suzanne Weiner presented the following resolutions.

First Reading:  Resolution on Free In-State Tuition Waivers for Employees/Families

Chair Daley assigned the resolution to the Personnel Policy Committee

First Reading:  Resolution on Faculty/Staff Outreach Programs for Public Schools

Chair Daley assigned the resolution to the Resources and Environment Committee

7.   Reports
Grievance/Hearing Report
Chair Daley reported that during the 2003-04 academic year NC State experienced five grievances and two hearing panels. Two of the grievances and both of the hearing panels are still in progress.

8. Issues of Concern
Secretary Weiner reported that there were sixteen (16) issues of concern brought to the Senate between August 2003 and April 2004.  Ten (10) of these have been addressed by the assigned committee and actions taken have been reported back to the Senate. Six (6) are still in committee and are considered to be outstanding. These will be referred to the new chairs of the committees for any further follow up and action.

9. Adjournment
Chair Daley adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.

Footer Nav