Breadcrumb Navigation:

Human Resources > Glossary > Current Page

Term Details - BOT

Board of Trustees. North Carolina State University is a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina (UNC) system. According to The UNC Code, each institution, including NC State, has a Board of Trustees, composed of thirteen persons: eight elected by the UNC Board of Governors, four appointed by the governor, with the remaining member being the president of the campus's student government, ex officio. The Board of Trustees promotes the sound development of its institution, helping it to serve the people of the State in a way that will complement the activities of the other institutions of the UNC System and aiding it to perform at a high level of excellence in every area of endeavor. Each institution's Board of Trustees serves as an advisor to the UNC Board of Governors on matters pertaining to its institution and serves as an advisor to the institution's chancellor concerning the management and development of the institution.

Back to term index