Welcome to the NC State Department of Chem­istry. Our award-winning re­search­ers and teachers guide stu­dents through a broad, rigorous curri­cu­lum, and our grad­uates have been highly suc­cess­ful in both aca­demia and in­dus­try. Our re­search pro­grams cover a di­verse spec­trum including analytical, inorganic, organic, physical, biological, polymers, materials, nanoscience, theoretical, and magnetic resonance.

Contact Information

Undergraduate studies and enrollment assistance:
Katie Elliott

Graduate studies:
Maria Moreno

Dabney Hall, Room 208, Box 8204
2620 Yarbrough Drive, Raleigh, NC 27695-8204

Hours of Administrative offices:
8am-5pm, M-F

Phone: (919) 515-2355
Fax: (919) 515-5079

News & Events

View all posts

Chemistry faculty honored at University Teaching Awards Luncheon

Three chemistry faculty were recently honored at the University Teaching Awards Luncheon on Monday, April 11.

Pictured left to right: Dr. Reza Ghiladi, recipient of one of the the University's Outstanding Teacher Awards; Dr. Edmond Bowden, Interim Chair of Chemistry; Dr. Maria Gallardo-Williams, recipient of the Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching; Dr. Maria Oliver-Hoyo, recipient of the College of Science's nominee for the Board of Governor's Award for Excellence in Teaching; Dr. William Ditto, Dean of the College of Sciences. Posted April 21, 2016

Amanda Digby selected for 2016-17 "Preparing the Professoriate" program

Ms. Amanda (Kat) Digby has been selected as a member of the 2016-17 "Preparing the Professoriate" program in the Graduate School. This is a prestigious professional development program whereby graduate students are matched with faculty mentors to develop their teaching skills and a teaching portfolio. Kat's teaching mentor will be Dr. Lori Petrovich. Her research advisor is Dr. Maria Oliver-Hoyo. Posted April 11, 2016

Vishwas Rao named 2016 Barry Goldwater Scholar

Chemistry undergraduate Vishwas Rao has been named a 2016 Barry Goldwater Scholar. Three scholarships were awarded to undergraduates across North Carolina. The Goldwater Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,150 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the institutional representatives of 415 colleges and universities nationwide. Goldwater Scholars have very impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. Vishwas plans to pursue graduate studies in chemical biology and has been carrying out research in the lab of Dr. Gavin Williams. Vishwas is also a Park Scholar at NC State. Read the full story here. Posted April 11, 2016 (updated April 21, 2016)

Graduate Recruiting Weekend 2016 poster session winners

The annual Graduate Recruiting Weekend 2016 poster session winners can be found here. Posted March 31, 2016

Sofia Garakyaraghi and Leslie Wilson awarded at Graduate Student Research Symposium

Congratulations to Sofia Garakyaraghi (Castellano Group) and Leslie Wilson (Sombers Group) for 1st and 3rd place poster wins, respectively, at the Graduate Student Research Symposium held on March 23. Posted March 28, 2016

Elizabeth Hecht wins ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Fellowship

Congratulations to Elizabeth Hecht from the David Muddiman gorup. Liz is a recipient of the American Chemistry Society, Division of Analytical Chemistry 2016-2017 Graduate Student Fellowship. These fellowships are very difficult to win and her award is a testament to her hard work, dedication, intellect and creativity. Posted March 28, 2016

View all posts