Robertson Pulp and Paper Laboratories

Robertson Pulp and Paper Laboratories

View From Northwest

Scroll below for building history

Click to view ADA Map
Accessibility Map

Location: Central Campus

Current Residents:

Wood and Paper Science

Built 1957;
Pulp and Paper Labs, 1991

Sq. Footage 82,863

To: Campus Map
To: Facilities Division
To: Floor Plans


The original Robertson Building was considered unique to the South and has housed a small paper-making machine in addition to all necessary supporting research equipment. The Robertson Building is connected to Biltmore Hall, and the new, three-story labs contain an area of 27,500 square feet. The building is named after Reuben Buck Robertson (1879-1972).

Robertson graduated from Yale University and practiced law in Cincinnati before working with the Champion Paper and Fiber Company at Canton. He later became chief executive and president in 1950, and a member of the Board of Directors. Citing him for "his achievements in science, in industry, and in promoting social welfare," NC State awarded Robertson an honorary Doctor of Science degree in 1932. In 1954, the American Forestry Association extended to him the Conservation Award for Distinguished Service.

Return to the Building Index or Return to the Campus Map Tunnel - not accessible (click for details) Emergency Blue Light Telephone Location Accessible Wolfline Bus Transit Stop Steep Grade - may require assistance (click for details) Nearest accessible van parking spaces - number indicates available spaces Nearest accessible car parking spaces - number indicates available spaces Passenger Elevator - requiring a key for access (click for details) Passenger elevator (click for details) Accessible Facility Entrance (click for details) Automatic Door Opener Accessible Entrance (click for details) Elevation Change (click for details) Access Route (click for details) Inaccessible Building (click for details) Partially Accessible Building (click for details) Accessible Building (click for details) South Campus North Campus Centennial Campus Central Campus Central Campus South Campus West Campus Stadium and Arena