« CEFS to hold Fall Festival | Main | Community Forums to be held across state »

September 14, 2006

Dearmon named SEANC Member of the Year

Mark Dearmon

Linda Sutton elected president

Mark Dearmon, leader of Communication Services' MultiMedia Team, has been named Member of the Year by the State Employees Association of North Carolina. Dearmon was recognized at the association's annual meeting held recently in Greensboro.

Dearmon has a long history of involvement in SEANC, serving as this year's district policy platform chairman. He is a 30-year state employee at North Carolina State University and has served as district chairman, vice chairman and on the district membership, communications, EMPAC and policy platform committees.

Dearmon is currently serving as vice chairman of the State Employees Political Action Committee and Area 10 EMPAC.

He also has served on the executive committee as treasurer and central region representative. He was instrumental in planning past legislative rallies and is active in member recruitment. He has won the distinguished service and member of the year award from his district.

Linda Rouse Sutton of Kinston was elected president of SEANC. Sutton, who is married to Clyde Sutton of the Cunningham Research Farm, received her leadership training through the Extension Homemakers Assocation in the 1980s.

Sutton has been a state employee for 25 years and is currently a program assistant/general instructor at Dobbs Youth Development Center. An active member of District 70, she has served in many positions, including chairperson of the auditing, scholarship, membership, insurance chairperson, awards, bylaws, EMPAC and policy platform committees.

SEANC, headquartered in Raleigh, is the lobbying organization for the employees and retirees of state government. SEANC — 55,000 members strong — is the largest non-union public employees’ association in the nation.

Posted by Natalie at September 14, 2006 01:36 PM