« Walter Jones visits Pitt County Extension | Main | Homemaker group provides scholarship »

June 01, 2007

Agriculture secretary names 47 N.C. counties for disaster aid

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Mike Johanns has designated 47 North Carolina counties as disaster areas, following an April freeze that devastated a number of the state's early crops. The counties received the designation of "primary natural disaster area" following crop damage assessments by the Farm Service Agency.

Counties receiving the disaster designation are:
Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Bladen, Burke, Cabarrus, Chatham, Chowan, Cleveland, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Gaston, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Haywood, Henderson, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Lenoir, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pender, Perquimans, Polk, Richmond, Rockingham, Rutherford, Sampson, Stanly, Union, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes and Yadkin.

Additional counties received the designation "contiguous disaster counties." They are:
Alamance, Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Buncombe, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Columbus, Craven, Dare, Davie, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Guilford, Harnett, Hertford, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, New Hanover, Pasquotank, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Scotland, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wilson, Yancey.

Farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Posted by Natalie at June 1, 2007 02:53 PM