« Program recognizes volunteer efforts | Main | CEFS gets publicity in Triangle publications »

May 13, 2008

Specialists' association grants awards

The North Carolina Association of Cooperative Extension Specialists presented awards at its recent May meeting.

Dr. David Tarpy, Extension apiculture specialist, received the award for outstanding individual Extension program. Tarpy was nominated by Dr. Jack Bacheler, department Extension leader for entomology.

Dr. Matt Poore, livestock specialist, received NCACES's first Special Specialist Award for his work assisting agents and livestock owners during the 2007-08 drought. He was nominated by Charles Young of Ashe County; Gerda Rhodes of Washington County; Jeff Carpenter, area specialized agent based in Catawba County; Amy Andrews of Craven County on behalf of the Southeast District agents; and Becky Spearman of Bladen County, on behalf of the South Central District agents.

Other Special Specialist nominees were:

* Bill Cline, blueberry and grape production specialist from Castle Hayne, nominated by Wayne Batten of Pender County
* Liz Driscoll, 4-H specialist with responsibilities in horticulture, crop science and soil science, nominated by April Bowman of Forsyth County
* Jim Dunphy, crop science specialist, nominated by Tim Hambrick of Forsyth and Stokes County
* Greg Jennings, biological and agricultural engineering specialist, nominated by Allen Caldwell of Caldwell County
* Anthony LeBude, horticulture specialist, nominated by Cliff Ruth of Henderson County
* Mike Parker, horticulture specialist, nominated by Roger Galloway of Montgomery County
* Ben Silliman, 4-H specialist, nominated by Barbara Dunn Swanson of Randolph County
* Jim Turner, livestock specialist based in Waynesville, nominated by Randy Collins of Graham County, and
* Mike Waldvogel, urban entomology specialist, nominated by Linda Blue and Nancy Ostergaard of Buncombe County.
-N. Hampton

Posted by Natalie at May 13, 2008 02:49 PM