« Ag agents group presents awards | Main | Secretaries association presents 2008 awards »

September 15, 2008

Liles inducted into Hall of Fame

Richard Liles

Dr. Richard T. Liles, retired from the Department of Agricultural and Extension Education, is among seven exemplary educators recognized with one of the most coveted awards in the adult and continuing education field, induction into the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame. This special induction ceremony for the Class of 2008 was held Sept. 8 in the Hall’s institutional home at the University of Oklahoma.

Educational scholars and practitioners whose contributions provide the foundation for continuing education and adult learning are inducted into the Hall of Fame.

During his 36-year career at NC State University, Liles served with distinction in a variety of significant leadership roles. His contributions to the body of knowledge and practice of non-formal adult education were derived from his position as a practitioner, leader and scholar in the roles of county 4-H extension educator, state 4-H extension specialist, state extension training leader, state director of Cooperative Extension’s Personal and Organizational Development System, associate head and interim head of the Agricultural and Extension Education Department and associate professor.

The induction ceremony was held in conjunction with the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame Symposium. The symposium’s guest speaker was Dr. Bobby Moser, 2005 Hall of Fame Inductee. Moser oversees one of the largest adult, continuing education and extension programs in the nation as vice president for Agricultural Administration and University Outreach at Ohio State University. He is also the founding leader of the American Distance Education Consortium.

The official home for the Hall of Fame is the University Outreach Oklahoma Center for Continuing Education (OCCE), Thurman J. White Forum Building, Norman, OK. The late Thurman J. White, founder of OCCE, envisioned a hall of fame to honor and document contributions of the past to better build the future. White worked with the University Continuing Education Association, American Society for Training and
Development, American Association of Adult and Continuing Education, ECOP/National Association of State University and Land Grant Colleges, to establish the Hall of Fame in 1995.

For more information about the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame and for a gallery of past inductees see www.halloffame.outreach.ou.edu.

Other inductees for the 2008 Induction were:
• Hazel Benn, posthumous, Colonel and creator of the voluntary education program within the United States Marine Corps
• Paulo Freire, posthumous, Brazilian philosopher, social activist and adult educator
• Paula Harbecke, Ph.D., vice president for Academic Affairs, Regis College
• Mortimer Neufville, Ph.D., executive vice president of the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges
• Michael Omolewa, professor, ambassador of the Permanent Delegation of Nigeria to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
• Thomas Sork, Ph.D., professor of educational studies, University of British Columbia

Posted by Natalie at September 15, 2008 03:10 PM