College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Academics. Research. Extension

Perspectives Online

« MEDIA ADVISORY: Media Guide Lists Preparedness, Recovery Experts | Main | YOU DECIDE: Is inflation out of control?»

North Carolina Agricultural and Life Sciences Research Foundation names inaugural board of directors

June 11, 2007

Media Contact: Catherine Maxwell, Director of Development for the North Carolina Agricultural Research Service, 919-513-8294 or

Note to editors: For a photo of the group, please contact Suzanne Stanard at 919.513.3126 or

North Carolina Agricultural and Life Sciences Research Foundation names inaugural board of directors

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University recently launched a foundation to build public and private support for research in the college. According to its mission, the new North Carolina Agricultural and Life Sciences Research Foundation will "create new opportunities for faculty, staff and students to innovate and pursue excellence in research."

Representing industry and academia, the foundation's board of directors held its first meeting on May 17. Dr. Steven Leath, the college's associate dean and director for research, facilitated the meeting, which included the election of foundation officers.

"We are extremely grateful to this tremendous group of individuals for their service to the college," said Dean Johnny Wynne, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. "They will help make possible research that will impact our industries, our economy, our environment, and the health, well-being and quality of life for all citizens of North Carolina."

Starting with the list of founding officers, the 23 members of the inaugural North Carolina Agricultural and Life Sciences Research Foundation board of directors are:

William H. Culpepper, Jr., President
President and CEO
SePRO Corporation
Carmel, Ind.

Mark D. Stowers, Vice President
Vice President of Research & Development
Poet Research
Sioux Falls, S.D.

David L. Davenport, Secretary
J.P. Davenport & Son
Greenville, N.C.

Eugene R. Charville, Finance Committee Chair
Chief Executive Officer
East Carolina Farm Credit
Raleigh, N.C.

Nicholas M. Hamon, Board Development and External Relations Chair
Director, Development and Technical Services
Bayer Environmental Science
Research Triangle Park, N.C.

John R. Anderson, Jr., Tech Advisory Committee Co-chair
Technology Development Manager and Lead of Technical Resources Team
Monsanto Company
Raleigh, N.C.

Michael A. Luther, Tech Advisory Committee Co-chair
Vice President of Drug Discovery
Merck Frosst Center for Therapeutic Research
Kirkland, Quebec

Kendall Hill, Cohort of 2008 Representative
Tull Hill Farms, Inc.
Kinston, N.C.

Roger R. Black, Cohort of 2009 Representative
Vice President of Product Development
R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
Winston-Salem, N.C.

Joe K. Hampton, Cohort of 2010 Representative
Superintendent, Piedmont Research Station
Owner, Back Creek Angus
Salisbury, N.C.

Catherine A. Ricks, Cohort of 2011 RepresentativeRetired Vice President
Embrex, Inc.
Raleigh, N.C.

David Bubeck
Research Director
Pioneer Hi-Bred International
Johnston, Iowa

Richard Childress
President and CEO, Richard Childress Racing
Proprietor, Yadkin River Angus and Childress Vineyards
Welcome, N.C.

William K. Collins, Sr.
Coordinator of Tobacco Programs
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, N.C. State University
Raleigh, N.C.

Henry P. Fleming
Faculty Emeritus, Department of Food Science
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, N.C. State University
Raleigh, N.C.

Clyde Higgs
Vice President of Business Development, North Carolina Research Campus
Castle & Cooke
Kannapolis, N.C.

Ray E. Hollowell, Jr.
Renaissance Construction Company
Manteo, N.C.

Ted Katsigianis
Vice President of Agriculture, Environmental Issues, and Natural Resources
The Biltmore Estate
Asheville, N.C.

Martin Mascianica
Director of Business Services
BASF Corporation
Research Triangle Park, N.C.

T. Dawn Parks
Co-owner and Secretary-Treasurer
P&D Automotive Systems, Inc.
Pelham, N.C.

Thomas H. Roberg
Chief Executive Officer, LaamScience, Inc.
Chief Development Officer, Biomarck Pharmaceuticals
Raleigh, N.C.

John A. Ryals
President and CEO
Metabolon Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Durham, N.C.

Paul Zorner
Adjunct Professor
N.C. State University and Clemson University
Encinitas, Calif.

Written by:
Suzanne Stanard, 919-513-3126 or

Posted by Suzanne at June 11, 2007 04:00 PM